Things I’m grateful for in the UK

Ciao!!

I am officially back from Italy – for good! It has been a whirlwind adventure but more about that later. I figured I would share things I am grateful for the UK, that I very much took for granted in Italy.

Supermarkets – Supermarkets in Italy were completely different, even ye olde faithful Lidl was completely different! Setting aside the whole language barrier thing, I just hated the supermarkets, I understand it’s not england its a different way of life, but for someone who finds english supermarkets stressful, italian supermarkets were a whole new level!

They also closed between 1-3pm, usually when I was most hungry. Aside from this it just highlighted how different the Italian lifestyle is compared to the UK. In the UK, we’re quick, convenient food, where-as in Italy, they’re more fresh food and barely have a freezer in their house, it was quite strange but also gave me such an insight into eating more fresh food, especially as a student.

WiFi – Oh my gosh. Never thought I’d be one to complain about wi-fi, but when you are without it, it is such an inconvenience, especially when it is your main method of communication. I only had internet via an ethernet cable and signing into an online portal, which was very temperamental. I think everyone takes wi-fi for granted until they lose it!

Food and drink – As much as I hate to say this, I am a fussy eater, I don’t eat eggs, I don’t eat a lot of veggies and I’m funny with meat and any seafood is a no-no. I also struggle with very carb heavy food such as pasta. Why did I move to Italy you say? Adventure! And why not? Food I admit, was a struggle and I did essentially live off of chicken and rice and copious amounts of gelato! So I’m grateful to the UK for having food my fussy self will eat.

Routines – Italian lifestyle is so much more relaxed, and this is something I feel needs bringing to the UK, it’s not all work, work, work, it’s about enjoying life and what it has to offer and I feel Italian culture incorporates this perfectly, especially when it comes to meeting up with friends and taking time for work. I found it so funny walking around the city you could immediately spot the tourist walking with a sense of urgency compared to the locals strolling in the sunshine, in no rush at all. I’m grateful to the UK for routines but I do miss the laid back italian lifestyle.

Teaching – For a student, good teaching is essential, style may be different but having a teacher who can hold you attention makes the world of difference! In Italy, teaching is very much about engagement with students and talking in class, which sometimes results in missing chunks of the lecture. Where-as in the UK, particularly in my university year, everyone in my year is relatively quiet, leaving the teacher to crack on and explain content. This suits me perfectly, as an anxious student I prefer to stay quiet in class and not rely of class discussion, even if I know the answer. I know this isn’t for everyone one, but that’s my preference.

I apologise if this blog post seemed like a complaint about Italy, but for me it’s notice of the differences and a reminder to be more grateful everyday for what I have and who I have with me, and chances I am given.

Ciao lovelies!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Things I’m grateful for in the UK

  1. I am very surprised to see on your list “food and drink” because I thought the UK is one of the worst in Europe for that – nearly everything has to be imported here. I do not like European siesta hours myself and I completely agree with you about wi-fi – only the UK in Europe does that right!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.