Christmas baking!

I love baking, I don’t get to do it as often as I like, but it’s something I absolutely love to do. Around Christmas I like to bake everything chocolatey and gingerbread, I just love it. Last year when I was at university, me and my friend spent a good few hours baking cakes and buns and all things nice to donate to the bake sale at the hospital. It was so much fun and all for a good cause! We made a Christmas pudding like cake which involved a lot of Malteasers…most of which I ate. Oops!

We also made cupcakes and lots of other treats, getting them to the hospital was a bit of a conundrum, but we managed it with barely any casualties. This year I haven’t got much chance to do any charity baking, but once I’m home I’m definitely going to try some of the recipes I’ve spotted on Pinterest, more specifically the Terry’s chocolate orange ones.

One of my favourite things to bake is brownies, I put so much chocolate in and they’re just so gooey! I still can’t decide whether I prefer Dairy Milk or Galaxy chocolate, but these brownies are perfect with ice cream either way! My family all love them so I think as I’m only home for a few weeks I’ll make a couple of batches for them and maybe experiment with flavours.

One thing I’m not so good at baking is cookies, I’d love to be able to bake them and they turn out ok, but it’s just not my forte. My friend is a chef and makes the best brown sugar cookies – I could really eat some now! I just need to perfect the recipe! Me and my friends are having our Erasmus Christmas this Saturday and we plan to bake cookies so hopefully these turn out ok – fingers crossed!

What’s your favourite thing to bake around Christmas time? I’d love to try some new recipes!

Ciao!

img_4307-1

 

3 thoughts on “Christmas baking!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.